Making music with Avid at the MPG Awards 2016

By in M&E
On February 5, 2016


On Wednesday, I had the pleasure of attending the prestigious Music Producers Guild (MPG) Awards, managing the social media and live tweets for Avid. Celebrating its eighth year, the MPG Awards are one of the biggest nights of the year in the music production calendar, celebrating and rewarding the outstanding wealth of creative and technical talent in the music industry today.

Featuring a presentation of 16 awards, the event was a joyous celebration of the people that are the foundations of music – producers, engineers, mixers, and more. The night saw some extra special guest appearances from 80’s pop music mogul Pete Waterman; the new sound of 2015 – FKA Twigs; and Led Zeppelin legend, Jimmy Page. Avid customers were nominated in pretty much every category, and continue to break boundaries with the industry leading music production solution, Avid Pro Tools.

Producer Charlie Andrew took home the top award of the night for UK Producer of the Year, by which he was also awarded with the first BRIT Award for 2016. Charlie continues to be one of the driving forces behind the sensational Alt-J. His work on their albums has seen the band go on to win the acclaimed Mercury Prize, along with some Grammy and BRIT nominations thrown in for good measure!

As the lorries biggest music fanatic, the awards were an opportunity for me to mingle with some of the most esteemed names behind some iconic songs and albums by legendary musicians from every genre of the industry, — including icons like The Beatles, The Jacksons, as well as stadium fillers like Coldplay and Muse, and my favourite lady – Adele!

MPG presented legendary producer and artist ‘Youth’ (Martin Glover) with the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award. To top the night off, we were treated to a one-off performance from a musical super-group, featuring a number of the artists that Youth has produced over the years, including Killing Joke, Alex Paterson from the Orb and The Verve’s Richard Ashcroft.

Congratulations to all the winners and thanks to the MPG for a great night!

Back to Blog

Related Posts